Camera Upgrade, Canon Rebate

Nikon D80

So I’ve decided to give in to the digital overlords and succumb to buying a DSLR. I’ve got a bevy of cameras lying around my apartment, but as I’ve discussed with several friends, film is just too expensive to work with these days. So now I’m in the final throws in deciding what camera I want to get. And I’m leaning toward a Nikon D80 or a Canon 30D.

I’ll spare all the technical talk, but I did learn at the Ritz/CamerasWest in Seattle that the Nikon D80 and above is compatible with all Nikon lenses from 1950, digital or not. That’s a pretty sweet deal, because lenses that old tend to be cheaper and sometimes even better quality. The Nikon is also not as heavy as the Canons are.

However, via Gizmodo, Canon is giving pretty big rebates on DSLRs and Lenses. And these are instant rebates, no headaches with snail mail. [Coupon PDF]

Canon Rebates

I’ll update when I’ve got my new camera, hopefully within a week or two. Post Script: If you’re ever in Seattle and can’t say more about the Ritz/CamerasWest on 1908 4TH Ave in downtown Seattle. They had the best and informative people I’ve ever met in retail.

3 responses to “Camera Upgrade, Canon Rebate

  1. I ended up buying the Nikon D40 a few years ago and have been very happy with it. I’m not a photographer by any means though.

    In addition to the camera bag, extra battery a few lenses and a 4GB ultra SD I also use a 2GB wireless card with it. I know you love gadgets so you might want to check out the last paragraph on this post – http://blog.alcastle.com/2008/01/16/macworld-expo-wednesday/

  2. Lauren, I totally bought a used Nikon D40 for $400!! Came with two lens and all the manuals and crap. Plus a really nasty camera bag that I’ll be throwing away 🙂 But I love it. After we went to CamerasWest I just got so flippin’ excited again that I couldn’t wait for our stimulus check to arrive. I’m so bad.
    PS Thanks for sending me those pictures you took for me all spy-like 🙂

  3. Can’t wait to win the new DSLR this company is offering now! lol > http://www.plaquefreenation.com/

    This would be my 2nd option if I don’t win that… 🙂

Leave a Reply

