Day 1: Mexico!

I have all my photos back, so I’ll be posting my trip during the course of the next week or two (finally!). So I’m back bitches and ready to blog.

On April 23 I landed in Mexico for the first time in my life. Temperature wise it’s what I expected (just like the good old South). I met most of the Bevis clan (Lacy’s brother Arran his wife Allie and their daughter Sierra, along with Lacy’s sister Heather and her son Colin and Lacy’s mom). As soon as we packed up the van we sped out of Cancun, we’re not the get drunk on the beach type (at least not THAT type).

Our first night in Mexico. Flew into Cancun and promptly left for Playa Del Carmen. We got three rooms like this for a grand total of $90. Pretty sweet deal.

Our first night in Mexico. Flew into Cancun and promptly left for Playa Del Carmen. We got three rooms like this for a grand total of $90. Pretty sweet deal.

I recall a conversation that Lacy and I overheard while we were filling out our custom forms. “We’re just going to get drunk and lay on the beach. Why do we have to fill out these forms?”

I don’t know, foreign country much? I know Cancun is the spot for partying and such, but if that’s all you were really going to do why not just go Daytona Beach? At least you’d avoid those pesky forms. Anyway…

We had a bit of an adventure trying to find a hotel, but mission accomplished, we found a hotel for $30 a room (!!!). The humidity skyrocketed, but I love wandering around at night without the need for a jacket.

We wandered around until we found a restaurant still open, because by the time we had settled in it was almost 11 pm. It was a short night, but it was our first day.

Next post…Ruins, the best food and mysterious stranger on the beach…

Leave a Reply

